The Old Fort
Discover the old fort after which Fort William (An Gearasdan) is named, right by the River Nevis. A wooden citadel was built on the site by Cromwell in around 1654. The citadel was replaced by a much sturdier stone fort in around 1690. The settlement close by was called Maryburgh at the time. It was at the fort in the Governor’s house that the order was signed for the infamous Massacre of Glencoe in 1692. The house no longer exists, but the panelling remains intact in the West Highland Museum.